About Malta


Malta is an island located in the Mediterranean Sea. A small but strategically important group of islands, the Maltese islands have through its long and turbulent history played a vital role in the struggles of a succession of powers for domination of the Mediterranean.  

The archipelago consists of three islands: Malta, Gozo and Comino —lying some 58 miles (93 km) south of Sicily.


Maltese and English are the official languages of Malta. Maltese resulted from the fusion of North African Arabic and a Sicilian dialect of Italian. It is the only Semitic language officially written in Latin script. 


Besides the rich cultural heritage, Malta offers a solid business and industrial background that goes way back. Testimony to this, the island is home to hundreds of foreign companies all operating within a well-developed economic and industrial structure. Today Malta is a well-connected investment location boasting an advanced communications setup and a business environment which gives every incentive for companies to invest, grow, innovate, and compete in a global marketplace.